The Team

Henry studied chemistry at the Philipps-University Marburg and the LMU Munich. After his diploma thesis with Paul Knochel he joined the group of François Diederich at the ETH Zurich for his Ph.D. There he worked on synthetic models for heme proteins. Henry then moved to The Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla as a postdoctoral research fellow to pursue his interest in supramolecular self-assembly in the group of Julius Rebek, Jr. He started as an independent research group leader at the LMU Munich in 2011. Since April 2020 he is Chair of Organic Chemistry at the FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg. His current research interests are centered on organic and physical organic chemistry and span the areas of photochemistry, supramolecular chemistry, and molecular machines.

Awards and Fellowships

2018 Research award of the Dr. Otto Röhm Gedächtnisstiftung

2018 Arnold-Sommerfeld Award of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities

2017 Dr. Klaus Römer-Foundation Young Investigator Award

2017 Awarded “Best presentation of Early Career Researcher” at “Thinking the Unthinkable” GDCh Scientific Forum Chemistry 2017, Anniversary Congress GDCh – 150 years

2016 TCI Lecture Award at the 25. Nachwuchswissenschaftler-Symposium Bioorganische Chemie 2016

2014 Emmy Noether-Fellowship of the DFG (German Research Foundation)

2012 Thieme Chemistry Journal Award

2011 Liebig Stipendium of the FCI (Fonds der chemischen Industrie)

2009 Feodor Lynen Postdoctoral Fellowship of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

2008 Postdoctoral Fellowship of the SNF (Swiss National Science Foundation)


Member of

the CHIROPTICS network – tailoring and characterizing chiroptical systems.

the Young Center (CASY) of the Center of Advanced Studies at the LMU

Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker – GDCh


Funded by:

Corina England, secretary (Administrative office Chemikum)

Email: corina.england at

Phone: 09131-85-65590

Pamela Hampel, secretary (Personal assistant to Prof. H. Dube)

Email: pamela.hampel at

Phone: 09131-85-65570

Dr. Frank Hampel, Akad. Dir.

Email: frank.hampel at

Phone: 09131-85-65577

Dr. Alexander Scherer, Akad. ORat

Email: alexander.scherer at

Phone: 09131-85-65576

Roland Wilcken

Email: roland.wilcken at

Phone: 09131-85-65431


Nicolai Bach, PhD student

Email: nicolai.bach at

Phone: 09131-85-65445


Frederik Gnannt, PhD Student

Email: frederick.gnannt at

Phone: 09131-85-65445


Laura Köttner, PhD Student

Email: laura.koettner at

Phone: 09131-85-65429


Benjamin Regen-Pregizer, PhD student

Email: benjamin.regen-pregizer at

Phone: 09131-85-65426


Max Zitzmann, PhD student

Email: max.zitzmann at

Phone: 09131-85-65429



Thomas Bartelmann, PhD student

Email: thbach at

Phone: 089 2180 77817


Aaron Gerwien, PhD student

Email: aagech at

Phone: 089 2180 77817


Kerstin Grill (née Hoffmann), PhD student (Chemifonds Stipend of the FCI)

Email: kehoch at

Phone: 089 2180 77817


Florian Kink, PhD student

Email: flokch at

Phone: 089 2180 77817


Christian Petermayer, PhD student

Email: chpech at

Phone: 089 2180 77729


Stefan Thumser, PhD student

Email: stthch at

Phone: 089 2180 77817


Edgar Uhl, PhD student

Email: Ed.Uhl at

Phone: 089 2180 77729

Maximilian Sacherer, Master student
Sebastian König, Master student
Fabien Kohl, Master student

Konstantin Kublik, Research student

Veronika Fuchs, Research student

Aila Rothweiler, Research student

Nadine Hoffmann, Research student

Wolfgang Donaubauer, mass spectrometry & X-Ray

Bernadette Hack, mass spectrometry

Marlon Markus, glassblower

Horst Mayer, mechanic

Bahram Saberi, glassblower

Holger Wohlfahrt, electrician