Bachmann group

Chemistry of Thin Film Materials

Research Focus

Research in the Bachmann group (chair ‘Chemistry of Thin Film Materials’) focuses on the development of preparative methods for nanostructured inorganic materials and interfaces at which various types of energy conversion phenomena can be studied. We create inorganic nanostructures with accurately tunable geometry, and we study their physical and chemical properties systematically as they vary with the geometric parameters. We are particularly interested in the transport and exchange of electrons and ions at interfaces in solar cells, batteries, and other electrodes.


Prof. Dr. Julien Bachmann, Ph. D.

Prof. Dr. Julien Bachmann (Foto: Erich Malter, FAU)

Chemistry of Thin Film Materials

Follow us on Twitter: @CtfmLab


Funding and collaborative projects

Logo ERC ERC Consolidator Grant
Logo European Commission
DFG Logo: back to Homepage German National Science Foundation
‘Catalytic and electrochemical release of solar energy stored in strained organic compounds’
‘Chemistry for 3D spintronics’ (DFG-ANR)
Logo EAM DFG Excellence cluster
‘Engineering of Advanced Materials’
Logo tubulAir BMBF-projects ‘TubulAir’
and ‘Tubulyze’
Logo Energiespeicher
Logo EU-project ‘M3d’ Logo 7th Framework Programme


Legal note (‘Impressum’, in German)