CTFM Chair

Chair 'Chemistry of Thin Film Materials'

Research Focus

Chemistry of Thin Film Materials LogoResearch in the chair ‘Chemistry of Thin Film Materials’ focuses on the development of preparative methods for nanostructured inorganic materials and interfaces at which various types of energy conversion phenomena can be studied. We create inorganic nanoparticles and nanostructures with accurately tunable geometry, and we study their physical and chemical properties systematically as they vary with the geometric parameters. We are particularly interested in the transport and exchange of electrons and ions at interfaces in solar cells, batteries, and other electrodes. We are part of FAU’s ‘Interdisciplinary Center for Nanostructured Films’ (IZNF).

Research activities are carried in two groups, led by Prof. Julien Bachmann and Dr. Ryan Crisp.


News ― Twitter feed (external link)





Prof. Dr. Julien Bachmann

Department of Chemistry and Pharmacy
Lehrstuhl für Chemistry of thin film materials (Prof. Dr. Bachmann)

Room: Room 02.136
Cauerstr. 3
91058 Erlangen

Dr. Ryan Crisp

Department of Chemistry and Pharmacy
Lehrstuhl für Chemistry of thin film materials (Prof. Dr. Bachmann)

Room: Room 02.141
Cauerstr. 3
91058 Erlangen


Funding and collaborative projects

EU H2020 projects:

•     ‘Fast Track to Innovation’ consortium ‘Atoplot — the atomic layer 3D plotter
(coordinated by FAU CTFM, 2020-2022:
with Atlant, SAS IEE, Femtika, Sempa)

•     ‘Factories of the Future’ consortium ‘MESOMORPH – All-in-one machine for hybrid technologies enabling high value added multi-scale integrated micro-optoelectronics’ (coordinated by Prima Industrie)

Logo European Commission
Logo ERC ERC Consolidator Grant:

‘Solacylin — A preparative approach to geometric effects in innovative solar
cell types based on a nanocylindrical structure’

Logo European Commission
Logo DFG DFG projects:

•     Coordinated Research Center ‘CLINT’ — ‘Catalysis at liquid interfaces’

•     ‘Catalytic and electrochemical release of solar energy stored in strained organic compounds’

•     ‘Chemistry for 3D spintronics’ (DFG-ANR, 2018-2022:
with Spintec and TU Darmstadt, including IWMNT 2021)

•     ‘Investigation of factors that affect the stability of composite electrode
materials’ (DFG-RFBR, 2020-2023:
with Saint Petersburg State University)

German National Science Foundation
Logo EAM EAM Starting Grant (2013-2014)

Interdisciplinary Center for Nanostructured Films (IZNF)

Excellence cluster
‘Engineering of Advanced Materials’ (EAM)
Logo tubulAir BMBF projects

•    Tubulyze
(coordinated by FAU CTFM, 2019-2022:
with FAU WTM, DFI, HAW Hamburg, Uniwell, HI-ERN)

•     ‘ECO2nvert — Electroenzymatic CO2 reduction using recombinant CODHs from
seafloor habitats recovered via an activity-based screen’
(coordinated by Geomar, 2020-2023)

•     ‘TubulAir’
(coordinated by HAW Hamburg, 2012-2017)

Logo mem3d.eu EU project ‘M3d’
(coordinated by CNRS Institut Néel, 2012-2016)
Logo 7th Framework Programme


Legal note (‘Impressum’, in German)