Chemistry studies at the Friedrich-Alexander-University (FAU) Erlangen-Nürnberg were originated in the 18th century with the creation of an undergraduate degree. Over time the Chemistry Department grew in size and the different fields of research developed into institutes. The Institute for Inorganic Chemistry was created in 1961. In 1972 the institute moved from its downtown location to its current building at Egerlandstrasse 1. In 1998, Researchers at the Inorganic, Organic and Physical Institutes were granted funding for the Sonderforschungsbereich 583 (Research Initiative 583).

In 2007 the University changed to a Bachelor, Master, Doctorate degree system. The Chairs of Inorganic Chemistry, along with those of Organic-, Physical-, Theoretical-, Pharmaceutical- and Food Chemistry as well as Pharmaceutical Technology became part of the newly formed Department of Chemistry and Pharmacy.