Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Steinrück appointed Henriette Herz Scout

Prof. Dr. Hans Peter-Steinrück
Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Steinrück, FAU (Photo: Erich Malter / FAU)

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation has appointed Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Steinrück, Chair of Physical Chemistry II, as a Henriette Herz Scout. In this funding program, scouts can attract up to three outstanding young foreign scientists with a PhD degree to FAU. The selected candidates receive a Humboldt Research Fellowship for two years without an additional time-consuming review process.

Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Steinrück holds the Chair of Physical Chemistry II. His research group investigates the physics and chemistry of surfaces. In addition to numerous awards, he received an ERC Advanced Grant in 2016 for his outstanding basic research in the field of ionic liquids. He was also elected to the National Academy of Sciences, the Leopoldina, in 2016 and to the European Academy of Sciences (EURASC) in 2018. He is Editor-in-Chief of the journal Surface Science, as well as a member of the Scientific Advisory Board in the field of “Matter” at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Helmholtz Center since 2019.


Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans-Peter Steinrück