Modules MSc Chemistry

The master programme is constructed in separate modules. It includes three mandatory modules (15 credit points each) in inorganic, organic and physical chemistry, one mandatory elective module (15 credit points), one elective module (15 credit points), one specialisation module (15 credit points) and the master’s thesis (30 credit points).
All modules add up to 120 credit points.

As mandatory elective module one out of five (CME) has to be chosen. The elective module can be either a second mandatory elective module or one of the elective modules (CE).
The specialisation module can be chosen either in inorganic, organic, physical or theoretical chemistry.

The selection of modules has to be done at the beginning of your studies and registered on StudON.

The master’s thesis finalizes the scientific education of the MSc programme. The student should proof his/her ability to solve a scientific problem independently under the guidance of an experienced supervisor.

Credits Semester
CM1-IC Inorganic chemistry (mandatory module) 15 1-2
CM2-OC Organic chemistry (mandatory module) 15 1-2
CM3-PC Physical chemistry (mandatory module) 15 1-2
CME Mandatory elective module 15 1-2 (2-3)
CE Elective module 15 (1) 2-3
CS Specialisation module 15 3 (2)
CMT Master’s thesis
(6 months)
30 4
Total 120 4

Further details on the modules can be found in the module guide MSc Chemistry.