Current group

Current members of the Bachmann group

We are located in the building of the Interdisciplinary Center for Nanostructured Films (IZNF) at Cauerstr. 3, where we occupy offices 2.135 to 2.138 and 2.164 to 2.167. Our laboratories are 2.113 (thin films), 1.100-1.101 (electrochemistry), 1.121 (‘moonshine lab’), 0.117 (instrumental lab), and (operated together with the Halik group) 2.103, 2.106, 2.107, 2.110. Additionally, we have our anodization lab U1.023 in the EAM building, Egerlandstr. 3a.


Prof. Julien Bachmann, Principal investigator
Laura Progscha, Team assistant


Dr. Ignacio Mínguez Bacho
Dr. Maïssa Barr
Dr. Sebastian Bochmann
Dr. Ryan Crisp

Ph.D. students

Ying Zhuo
Pascal Büttner
Dirk Döhler
Xin Liu
Yuanyuan Cao
Michael Bosch
Michael Schöbitz
André Hofer
Vanessa Koch
Sarah Tymek
Ivan Kundrata

Master’s students

Ceyla Asker
Soheila Nadiri
Lena Nguyen
Jonas Englhard
Jan Bosse
Leonid Shupletsov
Marco Jiménez Sánchez
Marko Nolte
Florian Scheler: B. Sc. 2017 and HiWi 2018-2019 in our group, currently on his Master’s thesis in collaboration with the University of Valencia

Short-time group members

Trainees, bachelor students, and external visitors.

Helal Uddin: HiWi
Anastasiia Podurets: Ph. D. student from Saint Petersburg State University, visiting our group on a DAAD fellowship
Sofia Korenko: HiWi
Marina Günthert: HiWi
Lena Mittmann: HiWi
Rami Alahmar: inorganic chemistry intern
Seyma Karagöz: inorganic chemistry intern


The group getting ready for Bergkirchweih 2019

“Weißwurstfrühstück” before leaving for the “Berg”…

Photo of the Bachmann group 2019

Photo: Bachmann

Rainbow cake with unicorn…

…. vegan, with glitter! There have been a number of memorable cakes in the group, but Vanessa’s creation brings it to a whole new level:

Vanessa's unicorn cake

Photo: Bochmann